Help: My Archive: Saved Items

What is the Saved Items page?

The Saved Items page lists all the items you have saved to My Archive. It allows you to store items beyond a single session, view full citation, view full text where available, email selected items, print them, download them, annotate them, or delete them from your list. The Saved Items page is divided into up to three sections with seperate lists for items from books, periodical articles and periodical records.

Each item in the list consists of:

  • A number to indicate the position of an item in the list. The most recent item will be at the top of the list.
  • Brief information including a link to the full record.
  • Links to the periodical record and periodical issue for periodical article entries
  • A link to the full text, if available.
  • A link to Add a note to the item.
  • A Select this item check box . Each item will be selected by default.

Viewing the full citation for an item

You can view the full citation for any item you have added to your Saved Items list.

  1. Click the hyperlinked title of the record you want to view.

You will be taken directly to the relevant page in The Gerritsen Collection.

Viewing the full text for an item

You can view the full text (where available) for any item you have added to your Saved Record list.

  1. Click the  View full text link.

You will be taken directly to the relevant full text page in The Gerritsen Collection.

Emailing items

You may wish to select items on the Saved Items page and email them to yourself or others.

  1. Click the relevant checkbox for the item(s) you wish to email or check the Select all items checkbox above the list if you wish to email all items in the list
  2. Click the Email link above the list to open the Email page.

Note: you must select the items you wish to email before accessing the Email page.

Printing items

You may wish to select items on the Saved Records page to print.

  1. Click the relevant checkbox for the item(s) you wish to print or check the Select all items checkbox above the list if you wish to print all items in the list
  2. Click the Print View link above the list to open the Print page.

Note: you must select the items you wish to print before accessing the Print View page.

Downloading items

You may wish to download items on the Saved Records.

  1. Click the relevant checkbox for the item(s) you wish to download or check the Select all items checkbox above the list if you wish to print all items in the list
  2. Click the Download link above the list to open the Download page.

Note: All items which have their Select this item check box checked will be included on the Download page. If there are items in your marked list which you don't want to download then you must uncheck the Select this item check box.

Removing items

  1. Click the relevant checkbox for the item(s) you wish to remove or check the Select all items checkbox above the list if you wish to remove all items in the list
  2. Click the Remove link above the list.

Note: you must select the items you wish to remove before clicking the Remove link.

Is there a limit to the number of records I can save?

The Gerritsen Collection allows you to save 500 items. If you already have 500 items saved and you click the Save to My Archive link, you will be taken to the Saved Items page in My Archive and prompted to remove an item because you already have the maximum number of items saved.

Adding a note to a saved item

You may wish to append an explanatory note to a saved item entry. Once you have created a note you can then view, edit, or delete it at any time. You can also email it as part of a saved item entry to yourself or others.

  1. Click the Add note link for the relevant saved record entry.
    A Notes page opens.
  2. Type in your text.
  3. Click the Save button to save your note, or Click the Delete note link to close the window and remove your note.

An Edit note link appears for the relevant saved item entry after a note has been created. Click the Edit note link to edit or delete an existing note.

Logging out

Your saved items are one of the access-controlled features of The Gerritsen Collection, so that only the searches you save are added to the list.

To ensure that no-one else uses your saved records whilst you are away from your computer, we recommend that you log out from the Saved Items page when you have finished using it:

  1. Click the Log out of My Archive link at the bottom of the page.